Folly Ventures: Bar Harbor, ME

So sorry for my leave of absence, dear readers. Summer has been a little overwhelming and busy here in NY, so I decided to take a break from the blogging world (without a note…my bad). Though with autumn here in full blast (complete with everything deliciously pumpkin!), I’ve been inspired to take hold of my long since ignored blog! That said, here’s a post about a summer adventure I had to catch you all up.

Over the summer I went to a couple of lovely vacation spots and one of the newest and exciting ones (and longest to trek to #LeSigh) I got to visit was Bar Harbor, Maine. It was what can only be classified as a perfect vacation spot–which I guess it should be from a place whose motto is “Vacationland”. It had an adorable town filled with shopping (not high end, but cute vacation knick knacks), yummy eatieries, wine/beer tastings, and a long list of fun social events. (Markets, comedy crews, etc.)

What really impressed me though, was all the natural beauty that surrounded the town. Bar Harbor, ME is home to one of the most gorgeous natural parks I have ever been to on the east coast of the US: Acadia. Please see some examples below of said beauty:

acadia ocean1

What did I tell you–completely lovely, right? The park is MAAAASSIVE and has numerous different things to enjoy such as mountains to hike with far horizon views, sloping seaside cliffs, numerous beach spots, and even more wooded camp/picnic areas. It is a nature lovers paradise.

And with such a grand playground, there of course are plenty of outsidey events to do such as kayaking rentals, sea life cruises (the whale/seal/puffin tours will cost you a pretty penny, but I feel like its something wonderful to try at least once!), sailboat cruises, plane/helicopter rides around the islands, and lots lovely lighthouses to check out around nearby locations.

kayak

Screen Shot 2014-09-30 at 2.05.16 PM

 

Overall, it was a beautiful vacation with tons of sights to take in and lots of fresh air to enjoy. I would really recommend Bar Harbor to anyone who loves natural views, the outdoors, or would just like to have a wonderful time with family/friends. I know I would certainly love to go back, even if the trip takes me a little longer from the city. For more information on Bar Harbor, ME, visit http://www.barharborinfo.com/

Where did you love traveling this summer? And funny fall trips coming up? Hope all is well!

~xo, L

Leave a Reply

